With broadest global representation, 12th PBR Bucking Battle to be aired on CBS Sports

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – In 2015, for the first time ever, Sioux Falls experienced the thrills of PBR (Professional Bull Riders) when the Top-35 bull riders in the world came to the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center, selling it out both nights. This weekend, the excitement continues with a first for the sport: riders from six countries – Australia, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, New Zealand and the U.S. – who will all be competing at the First PREMIER Bank/PREMIER Bankcard Invitational.

“Every bull rider in the world wants to compete on the biggest stage in professional bull riding – the PBR’s illustrious Built Ford Tough Series,” said Sean Gleason, CEO of PBR.“Our broad global representation in Sioux Falls shows PBR is truly the world’s premier bull riding circuit drawing the best riders from all over the globe.”

Along with the top bull riders in the world, some of the best bulls in the business will also be in Sioux Falls for the 15/15 Bucking Battle. Jared Allen’s Pro Bull Team will have Air Time and Lane’s Magic Train as two of the top bulls. Pearl Harbor (Bar D Cattle Company/Boyd-Floyd), Beaver Creek Beau (Dakota Rodeo/Berger-Struve) and Wicked (J.A.R.S./Gene Owens) will also buck on Saturday during the 15/15 Bucking Battle.

Added to the excitement of the weekend, Bullfighters Only (BFO) and the PBR have joined forces to feature the most-talented freestyle bullfighters in the world during BFO competitions at stops along the PBR’s 2016 Built Ford Tough Series – Sioux Falls included. Bullfighters Only will take to the arena during intermission on Friday at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center, to showcase their fast–paced sport, which is based on the fundamental skills required to protect bull riders.

Last season in Sioux Falls, 2004 PBR World Champion Mike Lee captured his first win of 2015 at the First PREMIER Bank/PREMIER Bankcard Invitational. Lee will return to defend his title in 2016, alongside the No. 1 rider in the PBR World Standings, two-time reigning World Champion J.B. Mauney, and three-time PBR World Champion Silvano Alves.

Mason Lowe, winner of the last PBR event, the Ty Murray Invitational in Albuquerque, New Mexico, as well as fellow rookies Derek Kolbaba and Wallace de Oliveira will also compete this weekend.

The event will take place on Friday, April 1 at 8:00 p.m., Saturday, April 2 at 6:50 p.m. and Sunday, April 3 at 2:00 p.m.

Tickets for the three-day event are on sale now and start at $15. Tickets can be purchased at the KELOLAND box office,www.Ticketmaster.com, and at (800) 745-3000. For more information visit www.pbr.com.

For an enhanced PBR experience, fans can purchase the PBR Elite Seats. Located in an exclusive section of the arena near all of the action, the PBR Elite Seats are priced at $350 each and will give fans the VIP experience of a lifetime, including a pre-event catered reception, backstage tours featuring a PBR 101 presentation, and meet-and-greets with the PBR’s top stars. Contact the PBR Customer Service Department at 800-732-1727 for more information.

The bull riders will attempt one bull each in Round 1 on Friday, Round 2 on Saturday and Round 3 on Sunday. Following Round 3 on Sunday afternoon, the riders’ individual three-round scores will be totaled and the Top 15 riders will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round for one more ride and a chance at the $30,000 event title.

CBS Sports will air the PBR 15/15 Bucking Battle on Sunday, April 3 at 2:30 p.m. ET and CBS Sports Network will air Round 3 and the championship round at 8:00 p.m. ET.

PBR LIVE will stream the entire event in real time with Round 1 on Friday at 8:30 p.m. ET; Round 2 on Saturday at 7:30 p.m. ET; and Round 3 and the championship round on Sunday at 2:30 p.m. ET. PBR LIVE is now available at no charge to all fans and media. Visit www.PBR.com/live to view. Fans can also watch all of the action live via the PBR LIVE app, available for download now on Google Play and iTunes.

The First PREMIER Bank/PREMIER Bankcard Invitational is the 12th event on the 2016 PBR Built Ford Tough Series schedule. The season kicked off Jan. 9-10 in Rosemont, Illinois, and will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Nov. 2-6, taking place at the new Las Vegas Arena. After five days of competition, the 2016 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most PBR world standings points during the 2016 season, will be crowned and receive the coveted $10,000 World Championship belt buckle and a $1 million bonus.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network – the home of the PBR and networks around the world. Television ratings for PBR on CBS are up more than 35 percent this season compared to last year at this time, according to Nielsen. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Courtesy of the PBR Media Department
Media Contact…Heather Croze
Public Relations Manager